My Favorite Time of the Year

…. the Big Taste!

For Calgary’s biggest foodie festival this year, the boyfriend and I decided to go to Model Milk. The last time I went to Model Milk was years ago for a friend’s birthday, and while I don’t remember much about the food, I do remember that it was a little too expensive for my then 18-years-old self. Which is probably the reason I haven’t gone back since, ha! But what’s a better excuse to visit fancy restaurants that you probably won’t go to other than the Big Taste?! I love this event cause if you have time and don’t want to spend too much for a 3 course meal (like me), then it’s perfect!

This was the 3-course meal that was offered at Model Milk for $35/person. We both got different items when we could to make sure we could try as much as we can.

His: Calamari, Braised Wagyu Beef Cheek and Model Milk Cream Puff

I had a few bites of both the Calamari and the Wagyu Beef Cheek, and they were delicious. The Calamari was a little spicy and even had edamame and croutons which gave it a lot of texture as well. The Wagyu Beef Cheek was probably my favorite and I kept asking Shahn to give me bites of his food, hehe. It was so tender that it quite literally melted in my mouth. The only downside is that the portion was a little small.

Mine: Wagyu Beef Tartare, Model Milk Fried Chicken and Model Milk Cream Puff

Sadly, my meal was not as impressive as his. I really loved the simple taste of the Beef Tartare – it was so soft and melted in mouth, but almost felt like I was eating raw meat (haha!)… It was good nonetheless and I have no complaints. My disappointment was towards my main dish. I got the Fried Chicken and other than being cooked to perfection, it was nothing special. I got one big piece of drumstick and the breading had a strong vinegary taste. It was also insane to me it was regularly $58 for a sharing plate! Totally not worth it, in my opinion.

For Dessert, they only offered one menu item which was the Model Milk Cream Puff. We were both really impressed and enjoyed every bite. It had white chocolate and hazelnuts, the perfect dessert combination!

Other than the Fried Chicken, I enjoyed our dinner at Model Milk but I’m not sure if I could justify coming back again. Sadly, the Big Taste is only on for a week but I do get to try another restaurant on the weekend with my girlfriend’s so I’m v excited for that!

 KD

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Time of the Year

  1. I’m glad I read this! I was so sad that I couldn’t book a reservation for Model Milk’s Big Taste, but it seems like I might be better off going on a different day (I was planning on ordering the fried chicken!). Glad I have two Big Taste reservations over this weekend at smaller locales in yyc instead 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

